Tags

, , , , , , ,

I love music, probably more than is healthy for me.  Anything can become an addiction; mine is music (and tea/coffee) and like most music addicts, I go through music phases. A few years ago I was listening to a lot more profain and vulgar songs, and I felt pretty crummy about it. So I decided to do a music cleanse, which (for those of you who don’t know) is when you stop listening to all music but Christian. The difference it made was phenominal! I felt happier, stronger, more confident, and closer to God.

Now I’m not here to say that you need to only listen to Christian music – or Christian music at all – I totally came back into other types of music after almost 4 months, but I didn’t go back to my old music. So whether or Christian, Muslim, or Athiest I want to use this post to talk about how media affects you and your attitude.

“Above all else gaurd your heart”
-Proverbs 4:23

God warns us that what we put into ourselves will be with us forever, and (not surprisingly) He couldn’t have been more right. We are living in a society where talking about women like trash is fine. Those singers say horrific things about women, and they mean it. In Whistle by Flo Rida he says “that’s just how we live in my genre,” which demonstrates exactly I’m saying. This way of life is acceptable, even worshiped.

As a woman, how does listening to that type of music make me feel? Not too good. I regularly think of myself as more than a peice of meat, but with too much music like that I fall into feeling like I have to be sexy (in it’s true meaning), when I don’t. I also am going to say that as a man if you listen to this then you’re going to begin to see girls in this way. Whether you mean to or not. Even off of the sexual branch of music that I find distastful, there’s  music that is either angry at the world or self pitying. This music is so easy to listen to when you’re upset, but you’re just milking your anger and pain. I have a song by ADTR that as soon as I listen to it, I become angry and feel like the victim. Instead I should focus on the good things but this music drives my focus.

I could go on and on about differnet musics and their negative messages, but I want to begin to wrap up this post with a challange: next time you’re jamming to music, take a moment to assess what kind of mood it puts you in. Compare this between different genres and I’m will to bet you’ll notice a change.

So do yourself a favor and listen to positive and uplifting music. It may be the attitude change you need to turn your life around.

